Urban Rigger

Meet the residents: Mads

Mads
Apartment type 2
22 years old
Studying: Physical education and sports

“The water around the rigger is definitely my favorite part of living here.
It’s the sound of it, that I love. It’s always there, during storms or when it’s quiet, and it calms you and keeps you going at the same time. I’m not sure how to explain it, but there’s always something moving and doing its own thing in the corner of your eye. It inspires you to stay in motion too.

Which I do. Literally.
I study physical education and sports, and my top three sports are kayaking, volleyball and skiing. With kayaking being my first choice it’s so brilliant for me to live in a place like this. Usually when you enjoy water sports, you have to ride a bike for several kilometres before you can even get to the water, but here it’s right outside my door. It takes about eight minutes from me deciding to go kayaking to me being in the water. It’s just so brilliant.

Another favourite of mine is skiing, and we live very close to a powerplant with an alpine slope on the roof. I haven’t had time to try it out yet, but I have my skis ready to go in my compartment in the basement.

When I’m not in the water I spend time in my own apartment. One of the first things I decided to do with it when I moved in was to get rid of my couch and expand the kitchen space instead. I just love to cook, so I’ve built my own cooking island. It has wheels too, so I can move it around as needed when I cook. I also bought a small dishwasher for my kitchen. My time is better spent on the water and with my girlfriend than doing the dishes. Or on the PlayStation I’ve put in the tv-room in the basement.

The evenings here are quiet. In a good way. When the sun goes down it’s amazing to sit and enjoy the water. And the silence.”